GitLab on September 10 shipped emergency patches for a maximum-severity vulnerability that lets unauthenticated attackers read arbitrary files off a server and by the following morning, attackers were already hunting for unpatched instances.
The flaw, tracked as CVE-2026-85706, carries a CVSS score of 10.0, the highest rating a vulnerability can receive. It sits inside GitLab's repository commits API, where improper path confinement combined with missing authentication enforcement allows an outside attacker to break out of the intended directory structure and pull files from elsewhere on the server. According to watchTowr, the firm that first flagged in-the-wild activity, those files include log entries and GitLab-specific configuration files that may contain credentials, secrets, and sensitive system details.
The requirement for exploitation is notably low. A GitLab instance needs at least one public project for the attack to work and no credentials are required at all.
"watchTowr Intel is already observing in-the-wild probes for the latest critical GitLab path traversal vulnerability, CVE-2026-85706, which allows attackers to read arbitrary files in a single HTTP request," the firm said on September 11, noting that scanning activity had begun as early as 06:00 UTC that morning, within hours of GitLab's patch publication the day before.
Jake Knott, head of threat intelligence at watchTowr, told this publication: "The appeal to attackers of GitLab is obvious, as unauthorized access allows an attacker to gain access to source code, CI/CD secrets, credentials, and the ability to inject code into build pipelines, gaining access or poisoning anything downstream of it, which as we've seen throughout this year has been a favorite of attackers."
What Gets Exposed
GitLab sits at the center of most software delivery pipelines. A server running GitLab may hold proprietary source code, container build definitions, infrastructure-as-code configurations, API keys baked into CI/CD scripts, deployment credentials, and runner access tokens. A vulnerability that lets an outside party read files off the server without logging in is effectively a master key to an organization's software supply chain.
CISA, which added the vulnerability to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on September 11, noted that arbitrary file disclosure can help attackers identify credentials, configuration details, and other information useful for follow-on intrusion activity. The agency also flagged the vulnerability under Binding Operational Directive 26-04, requiring forensic triage because some affected instances may have been accessed before patches were even available.
Knott warned that full-scale exploitation is not far off: "Based on the history, the transition of this vulnerability to indiscriminate mass exploitation is likely not far away, and defenders have limited time to act."
Two More Critical Bugs in the Same Release
The patch bundle that addressed CVE-2026-85706 also closed two additional high-severity vulnerabilities, making this one of GitLab's more consequential security updates in recent memory.
The second issue, CVE-2026-87719, carries a CVSS score of 9.9. It is an insecure deserialization flaw inside the GraphQL subscription serializer that affects only GitLab Enterprise Edition. An attacker who already holds an authenticated account with Duo Chat access can submit a specially crafted GraphQL subscription argument to bypass serialization controls and trigger server-side object lookup, potentially exposing Advanced Search instance configurations and sensitive credentials. Unlike the path traversal issue, this one requires an existing foothold — but an insider, a compromised account, or an attacker who has already gained limited access could use it to escalate what they can see.
A third vulnerability, CVE-2026-88765, is a buffer overflow in GitLab EE's Unicode conversion wrapper with a CVSS score of 8.5 that could allow an authenticated attacker to achieve remote code execution by importing a specially crafted Git project export. The overflow occurs during Advanced Search indexing, which means any instance that accepts project imports is in scope.
All three vulnerabilities are fixed in GitLab versions 19.3.2, 19.2.6, and 19.1.8, released September 10. GitLab.com and GitLab Dedicated customers do not need to take action the fixes were applied on their behalf.
A Pattern That Is Getting Harder to Ignore
CVE-2026-85706 is not an isolated incident. It is the second critical GitLab vulnerability to come under active exploitation within days of disclosure in roughly six weeks.
In August, GitLab released an emergency security update outside its normal twice-monthly schedule to address CVE-2026-19478, a code injection vulnerability in its GraphQL API carrying a CVSS score of 9.4. That flaw allowed unauthenticated attackers to modify or delete publicly accessible projects and user data through a GraphQL directive, requiring no credentials and no user interaction.
WatchTowr warned at the time that it was able to reproduce that vulnerability within minutes of disclosure, armed only with GitLab's advisory details and the patch itself. Exploitation followed within roughly 48 hours.
Knott made the connection explicit: "This is the second instance of a critical-severity GitLab vulnerability in recent weeks, following the previous GraphQL code injection (CVE-2026-19478) that was almost immediately actively exploited."
Internet-wide scanning data puts the number of self-managed GitLab instances reachable on standard web ports at more than 20,000, based on Shodan and Censys lookups, with a meaningful share still running versions inside the vulnerable range days after patches ship. That pool of exposed servers gives attackers a large, persistent target and the repeated pattern of fast exploitation suggests that, at minimum, automated scanning tools are picking up GitLab advisories and moving on them within hours.
What Defenders Need to Do Now
CISA has given Federal Civilian Executive Branch agencies until September 14 to apply the fix. Private sector organizations running self-managed GitLab do not have a regulatory deadline, but the window between disclosure and mass exploitation has been narrowing with each successive GitLab vulnerability this year.
Any internet-facing instance should be treated as potentially compromised until confirmed otherwise if it was exposed before September 10, because active in-the-wild probes began at 06:00 UTC on September 11, meaning any unpatched server was under active attack within hours of the patch release.
Knott recommended a specific log-hunting approach for teams that cannot patch immediately: review HTTP POST requests to /api/v4/projects/{id}/repository/commits/ URIs containing file.Path parameters. Any hits in those logs before the patch was applied are worth investigating as potential exploitation attempts.
Because successful exploitation can expose sensitive server-side files, organizations with vulnerable internet-accessible instances should also evaluate whether credentials or secrets accessible to the GitLab process require rotation.
Single-node GitLab instances will experience downtime during the upgrade because database migrations must complete before GitLab can start, while multi-node instances can apply the patch without downtime by following proper zero-downtime upgrade procedures. Version 19.3.2 also includes post-deploy migrations that run after the upgrade completes.
The vulnerability was discovered by a researcher using the handle 's3ntago' and reported through GitLab's HackerOne bug bounty program. No attribution for CVE-2026-87719 or CVE-2026-88765 has been publicly confirmed at this time.
A significant security update was released by Microsoft on Patch Tuesday in September, addressing 974 vulnerabilities across the company's software portfolio in unusual quantities. Additionally, this update contains two Windows flaws that have been confirmed to be exploited in the wild, highlighting the urgency of fixing the vulnerabilities. The vulnerabilities span several Microsoft product categories, including Windows, Office, SQL Server and Development Tools.
Microsoft Windows accounted for 723 flaws, while Microsoft Office and Office 2016 contained 111, SQL had 62, and Developer Tools contained 22 more. There have been over 110 critical vulnerabilities rated as critical. Among the most critical issues addressed in this month's release are privilege escalation, remote code execution and information disclosure. Besides Microsoft's own vulnerabilities, the company also patched 25 non-Microsoft vulnerabilities as part of the September update, which brings the total number of vulnerabilities covered to 999.
The two actively exploited Windows vulnerabilities are CVE-2026-85880 and CVE-2026-81963, both with a CVSS score of 7.8. The CVE-2026-85880 vulnerability is a heap-based buffer overflow in the Advanced Local Procedure Call (ALPC) function of Windows. The vulnerability can be exploited by an attacker with authorization to gain SYSTEM-level access by escalating privileges.
CVE-2026-81963 is a vulnerability that affects the Windows Update Stack and involves improper link resolution. Authorized attackers are also capable of exploiting this vulnerability for escalating local privileges and gaining system access.
By exploiting CVE-2026-85880, Microsoft stated that code running inside an AppContainer that has low privileges may escape its sandbox and gain full privileges on the affected Windows system. The attack does not require additional interaction from the user. This vulnerability has attracted significant attention due to its location within the Windows Update Stack.
There have been reports of vulnerabilities in this component that could have serious implications, especially since the update mechanism itself is responsible for the modification of system components. Microsoft has released fixes for CVE-2026-81963, however, across supported versions of Windows.
Both vulnerabilities have been exploited by Microsoft, but the company has not provided information regarding who the attackers are, how many systems were targeted, or whether successful compromises have been confirmed. According to the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA), both vulnerabilities have been added to its catalog of known exploited vulnerabilities. There is a deadline of September 22, 2026, for federal agencies to apply available security updates.
The September release addresses several high-severity security vulnerabilities across Microsoft enterprise products in addition to the two exploited zero-days. This vulnerability could allow an unauthorized attacker to execute code remotely if exploited by an attacker. It has been rated 8.1 by the Center for Vehicular Defense.
A vulnerability rated 8.8 in SharePoint has been reported, as well as a vulnerability in SQL Server called CVE-2026-65669, which can result in network-based code execution. The vulnerability is particularly severe and carries a CVSS score of 9.6, enabling privilege escalation. Several critical vulnerabilities affect Windows Remote Desktop Services, Windows DNS Server, Windows DHCP Server, Windows Shell, and Windows Services for NFS ONCRPC XDR Driver, carrying the maximum CVSS score of 9.8.
In addition to reflecting the growing number of security vulnerabilities reported, the scale of the September release also reflects the rising number of security flaws reported by TrendAI's Zero Day Initiative. As of the beginning of 2026, Microsoft has patched 2,760 security vulnerabilities. Among Tenable's analysts, Satnam Narang noted that the September release alone brings the yearly count above 2,600 vulnerabilities, more than twice the previous record of 1,245 vulnerabilities recorded in 2020.
It is important to note, however, that the raw number of CVEs does not necessarily indicate a company's level of risk. There may be patches that do not affect a particular environment, while others require specific configurations or local access for exploitation to occur. In the immediate future, it is important to identify vulnerabilities in deployed systems that are able to be exploited realistically.
Since the two Windows zero-day vulnerabilities have already been confirmed as exploited and have been added to CISA's KEV catalog, they should be remedied sooner rather than vulnerabilities with no known exploitation activity.
A new wave of WeChat vulnerability can turn an incoming voice call into a zero-click account takeover, enabling a compromised account to target another contact without requiring the recipient to answer the call or interact with the device.
Security researchers at Calif developed the exploit and demonstrated its worm-like propagation across an iPhone and two Android devices. In the test, an Android phone called an iPhone and compromised its WeChat account while the incoming call was still ringing. The compromised iPhone then called a second Android phone, allowing the researchers to repeat the takeover.
The attack depends on the caller already being listed as a WeChat contact of the target. Calif said this is not necessarily a strong protection because compromising one account can give an attacker access to that user's trusted contacts, creating opportunities to propagate the attack through existing relationships.
The recipient does not need to answer the call. Calif said answering it also does not prevent exploitation, with the victim hearing nothing while the attack continues. Rejecting the call stops that individual attempt, but an attacker can simply place another call later. This could allow repeated attempts when a target is unavailable, including while the person is asleep.
According to Calif, the vulnerability affects WeChat's VoIP functionality and involves memory corruption. Successful exploitation provides control over the victim's WeChat account, allowing an attacker to read and send messages, make calls and operate the account as its owner. The researchers stressed that the vulnerability by itself does not provide control of the entire smartphone. Chaining it with separate device vulnerabilities could, however, potentially extend an attack beyond the application.
Calif has not released the exploit's technical details and plans to present its full research at a security conference. The company said its researchers used an AI-assisted system designed to explore attack surfaces in messaging applications to identify the vulnerability. Calif said its engineering team identified the bug on July 23, completed an Android exploit on July 30 and demonstrated the worm on August 11. It separately described the initial exploit development as taking about two days, followed by roughly another week to build the worm.
The researchers disclosed the issue to Tencent in July. Tencent subsequently released WeChat 8.0.77 for Android and 8.0.76 for iOS on August 21. Calif said those updates mitigated its exploit and that it confirmed on August 28 that Tencent had also blocked the attack on its servers. On September 4, Calif said Tencent confirmed that the vulnerability could be exploited for remote command execution.
The server-side mitigation means users do not necessarily need to install an update for the specific exploit to be blocked. Keeping the application updated remains advisable, particularly because Tencent has not published a complete list of affected versions. Calif said it tested against Android 8.0.76 and iOS 8.0.75, including iOS 26.6 and older Android releases.
Tencent has not publicly issued a security advisory describing the vulnerability, while its release notes characterize the relevant updates as bug fixes. The company also distributes WeChat clients for HarmonyOS, Windows, macOS and Linux, but Calif has not disclosed whether those versions were tested.
The risk extends beyond private conversations because WeChat incorporates services including payments, official accounts and mini programs. Tencent reported 1.439 billion combined monthly active users for WeChat and Weixin as of June 30, 2026, giving an account-level compromise potential consequences beyond ordinary messaging.
There is currently no indication that the flaw was used in attacks against WeChat users. Calif has not reported an active campaign, and the researchers have not published indicators that defenders could use to identify exploitation. As of September 8, checks also found no CVE identifier for the vulnerability and no corresponding advisory on Tencent's security response site.
The discovery adds to a continuing security concern around zero-click vulnerabilities in communications software. Such attacks can exploit data automatically processed by an application before a user accepts an incoming communication, removing the conventional requirement for a victim to click a malicious link or open an attachment.
Calif's demonstration therefore presents two distinct risks: the immediate compromise of a WeChat account and the possibility of automated propagation through trusted contacts. While Tencent has blocked the demonstrated exploit, the absence of a public technical analysis means users cannot independently determine from the available information whether older or alternative WeChat builds were vulnerable.
The Secure Shell (SSH) remote-access service of MikroTik routers is actively being used by attackers to access internet-exposed MikroTik routers, exploiting vulnerabilities that can grant complete administrative control without requiring authentication. A CERT Polska advisory published on September 5, stating that successful exploitation has been observed since at least September 2. The advisory also noted successful exploitation of the ongoing attacks.
In the advisory, the attackers were not identified or an estimate of how many devices had been compromised was not provided. In addition to warning of active exploitation, Costin Raiu also reported that MikroTik routers with SSH exposed may already be compromised. Known as MikroTrick, this attack chain is comprised of two vulnerabilities found in MikroTik RouterOS.
A CVSS rating of 9.2 has been assigned to CVE-2026-67276, an SSH authentication bypass vulnerability. A second vulnerability, CVE-2026-86060, allows privilege escalation within an SSH session. When combined, these flaws allow an attacker with no credentials to gain complete control of RouterOS devices that are affected by these flaws. RSA public key validation is the cause of CVE-2026-67276.
Using a legitimate username and public key, an attacker can construct a fake key that is accepted without possessing the associated private key. Once access has been gained, a privilege-escalation flaw can be used to elevate the session to administrative level control. The CERT Polska website stated that six RouterOS vulnerabilities have been identified and coordinated for disclosure, with two of these vulnerabilities involving MikroTrick.
Organizational members have observed the attack on RouterOS devices accessible directly from the Internet. MikroTik has released fixed RouterOS versions that address these vulnerabilities. CERT Polska recommends installing the appropriate security updates immediately, and reviewing router configurations for unauthorized modifications following that.
As stated in the vendor's documentation, home devices' default firewall rules normally prevent external access to management services as long as those rules are not altered. Evidence of exploitation emerged before the security fixes were widely announced. The successful attacks, including the creation of highly privileged accounts known as "ops," are believed to have begun at least at the beginning of September, CERT Polska stated.
A security researcher, Costin Raiu, noted that MikroTik released fixes on September 3, posing questions regarding whether attackers were aware of the patches before they were made public. The timeline does not conclusively establish the flaws as zero-days. In the case of the attacks, the IP address associated with Leaseweb 82.192.72.4 has been primarily linked. There was also an observation of a second address, 103.102.31.18, exploiting MikroTrick. The confirmed successful attacks originating from this address, according to CERT Polska.
A number of traces have been left in RouterOS logs. Failed exploitation attempts appear under the username “-2”, while successful activity may appear as a configuration change and SSH session. It has been confirmed that the creation of the “ops” account is related to the observed attacks. Any changes involving users, SSH keys, scripts, scheduled tasks, firewall rules, proxy servers, or tunnels should be investigated immediately. It remains difficult to determine the extent of the exposure.
Approximately 122,500 MikroTik devices exposed to the Internet over SSH were reported by ShadowServer Foundation on September 5, however this number does not reflect how many devices are vulnerable to specific MikroTik vulnerabilities. MikroTik has not disclosed the number of compromised or exploitable routers. The new RouterOS versions include a Flagged mechanism which detects signs of unauthorized configuration changes during startup of the operating system.
The system can be configured to disable suspicious entries and record a critical warning, but according to CERT Polska, the detection mechanism only detects known traces, so a router without a Flagged warning cannot be regarded as automatically clean.
Administrators unable to patch immediately should disable externally accessible SSH, WWW/WWW-SSL, and bandwidth test services or restrict access to trusted management networks. Additionally, CERT Polska recommends that unpatched devices do not make outbound TLS connections or use the built-in RouterOS SSH clients, particularly across untrusted networks. These measures are intended only to reduce exposure until the security update can be installed.
When a router shows signs of compromise, CERT Polska suggests isolating it and conserving its logs and configuration before performing a reset. When the router has been restored to factory settings, it should be rebuilt using a trusted configuration, while passwords, SSH keys, and other credentials should be rotated.
Restoring a potentially compromised backup without verifying it should never be done. It is important to note that the six vulnerabilities identified by CERT Polska extend beyond the SSH flaws, affecting areas such as bandwidth testing, certificate handling, and WebFig functionality. Among the high severity bandwidth-test flaws identified by the agency are CVE-2026-67277, which can expose kernel memory or cause a remote system crash.
The active exploitation highlights the risks of exposing router management services to the internet. RouterOS security updates should be applied by administrators, configurations should be reviewed for unauthorized changes, and affected devices should be examined for signs of compromise.
The Amazon CodeCatalyst blueprints serve as template documents for creating software development projects that can be reused. npm package that is affected provides the framework that blueprint authors use to construct these templates and is part of the open-source project AWS CodeCatalyst Blueprints.
During blueprint resynthesis, a vulnerability occurs in the process of determining which files an existing project may modify based on its .ownership-file, which is used to determine whether blueprints can modify them. Versions 0.3.155 and earlier handled the owner field of an entry containing a [local] merge strategy without adequate validation, which left it vulnerable to shell command interpretation.
A repository user with access to commit permissions could potentially use shell metacharacters to alter the affected field. In the context of resynthesis, those characters could be interpreted as commands by the operating system, allowing arbitrary commands to be executed in the resynthesis environment. The executed commands could consequently expose all privileges or credentials available in that environment.
Amazon has rated CVE-2026-85012 as 8.5 on the CVSS 4.0 scale, indicating that it is a high-severity vulnerability. Under CWE-78, which describes improper neutralization of special elements in operating system commands, this vulnerability has been classified as high severity. Amazon CodeCatalyst service deployments that utilize vulnerable versions of the blueprint framework are affected by this issue as opposed to the CodeCatalyst service itself.
As stated by Amazon, CodeCatalyst's resynthesis process operates in a separate environment with unique credentials for each project. Additionally, the service performs server-side validation to block merge strategy commands unless they conform to a restricted allowlist, including older blueprint versions.
AWS Releases Fix for CVE-2026-85012
It has been reported that Amazon has corrected this vulnerability in version 0.3.156 of @amazon-codecatalyst/blueprints.blueprint, which reverts to shell-based command interpretation and executes the relevant command directly in place of shell-based command interpretation. In addition, the patched release restricts accepted values to an allowlisted command format, closing the injection path identified in CVE-2026-85012.
Shell metacharacters are prevented from being interpreted during blueprint resynthesis as additional commands, closing the injection path identified in CVE-2026-85012. There are versions of the package 0.3.155 and earlier that are affected, so Amazon recommends upgrading to version 0.3.156, with forked and derivative implementations also requiring the appropriate security updates. There is no need for Amazon CodeCatalyst customers to respond to this vulnerability on the service-side.
Resynthesis jobs within the service are conducted in isolated environments assigned to specific projects, using scoped credentials. Server-side checks are also applied by AWS to reject [local] merge strategy commands that do not conform to the approved format. In addition, these protections apply when blueprints are published using versions of the framework prior to version 0.3.156.
The primary remediation concern is those projects or development environments that directly utilize the affected open-source framework following the implementation of the package-level fix. This updates the dependency, therefore removing the vulnerable shell execution behavior, and resolving the underlying issue of command injection described in CWE-78.
"This vulnerability gives an unauthenticated attacker remote control over PaperCut's trusted configuration, which could be used to execute arbitrary Java code inside the application's process," Huntress researchers John Hammond and Andrew Brandt said.
The attack involves sending specially crafted, unauthenticated requests that manipulate server configuration settings. According to Huntress, the flaw stems from an authorization weakness that can cause PaperCut's security checks to validate the page being displayed rather than the underlying component responsible for carrying out an action.
In vulnerable versions, attackers can exploit this behavior to alter server configurations and gain access to sensitive administrative endpoints. Those endpoints can then be abused to perform unsafe operations and ultimately execute attacker-controlled code.
PaperCut has identified two vulnerabilities linked to the attacks:
The latest update follows PaperCut's release of a second emergency patch for versions 24, 25 and 26, which the company described as containing "additional hardening beyond the original emergency patch." PaperCut has not yet disclosed detailed information about the threat actors or their broader objectives.
However, the company has provided several indicators of compromise (IoCs) that organizations can use to investigate potentially affected systems.
Potential indicators in server.log include:
DB URL: jdbc:derby:memory:pwn;create=true
Database error looking up cardID: VALUES CAST(X'cafebabe
Database error looking up cardID: VALUES CAST('
DB URL: jdbc:no:x DB Driver: <5-char random name>
Security teams should also check for files such as:
<install>\server\lib\<5-char-name>.class
<install>\server\data\content\<5-char-name>.cmd
<install>\server\data\content\<5-char-name>.out